Viral Joy

Dear Jack-

Proverbs 17.22 says “A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.”  Joy has been a subject that has caught my attention for a number of years, partially because I have always experienced it as fleeting and situational (which I’m still working on not doing).  I shared this verse as I led a devotional at Keystone’s men’s breakfast this past Saturday as I asked what would our families, our churches, our communities, our workplace environments look like if at any given time one person had and shared a joy-filled heart?  I think it would be contagious, it would be “viral” if you will.  It would pass from one person to two, from two persons to four, and before you know it, the whole place is lifted up.

My aunt Jan and uncle John are two of the most joy-filled people I’ve ever met.  Each and every time I am around them I leave with my spirits lifted, no matter where my spirits were at before.  Their joy-filled hearts are good medicine to me and to everyone around them.  Likewise, it’s contagious.  So what if we strove to have a joy-filled heart and share it with those around us (family, clients, co-workers)?  Who knows what the ripple effect of that could be?  It’s amazing how much a negative attitude can drain, depress, and deflate your day, and it’s equally amazing how much a joy-filled attitude can encourage, motivate, and brighten your day.  Till next time, Jack.

Sincerely,
J.

Leave a Reply

