Sow. Reap. Repeat

Dear Jack,

As I said in a previous letter, the concept of Sowing and Reaping is a prevalent theme in the Bible, woven throughout the Old and New Testaments.  I’m the first to admit that I’m not sure how this biblical mandate coexists with the sovereignty of God – and I’m not going to really give much attention to that tension for the moment, as I’m confident both are truths, and I may just not understand it.  Rather, I’m going to talk about how Sowing and Reaping plays out in my life right now, and how I’d like you to infuse the principle into your own life.

The concept of Sowing and Reaping is an agricultural analogy.  A farmer will sow the seeds of a plant in the ground during the spring, and then reap (or harvest) the grown plants from the ground in the fall.  In our lives, we may not be sowing wheat seeds into our backyard, but we will be planting other types of seeds – three of which I’ll allude to.  This type of life philosophy/theology falls somewhere between the popular “God only helps those who help themselves” camp and the “Let go and let God” camp.  Ultimately, God can choose to send a pestilence and wipe the entire crop out, or he can cause manna to fall from the sky.  But most of the time he wants us to work the fields of life diligently no matter what the outcome.

Sowing as a financial planner
This can be applied to the masses in many regards and in many various employed positions, but specifically for me I’m talking about sowing seeds in regard to my business development role at Bare Financial.  This means, in the simplest phrase, talking to people who aren’t our clients to see if they’re interested in becoming clients.  I sow seeds – meet new people, ask to meet new people, follow up with new people.  I don’t need to stand over the newly sowed seed and check to see if it’s sprouting every day – I just need to sow the seed, check back periodically, and hopefully at some point reap the benefits of doing so.  It’s that simple.  God can choose to grow the seed out of the ground and into a plentiful crop if he so chooses – but I need to first plant the seed.

Sowing as a husband
It’s so easy not to be sowing continually in marriage – once the vows and the rings are exchanged, the crop is ready for steady and infinite harvest, right?  Not so much.  My role is to continually pursue Lydia, and I admit I’m not always great at this.  I need to sow the seeds of my love, appreciation, respect, and affection constantly.  This sowing season comes more than once a year – it’s a year round duty.  But just as the sowing season is unrelenting, so is the reaping season.  There’s a direct correlation between the love that I show and the respect that I get, so much so that there’s a book about it.  As husbands, we’re commanded to lead our family, specifically our wives, and when we do so, good things happen.

There’s another element of sowing and reaping as a husband that has a much more obvious and physical result – and we have a beautiful baby girl and soon will have a beautiful baby boy to prove it.  But I’ll leave that talk for another time.

Sowing as a father
I’m currently reading an excellent, albeit frightening, book that describes how a father is the most influential relationship a daughter will ever have in her life.  It’s written by a doctor with decades of research to prove her points, but even I could attest in my 2.5 years of experience the correlation between how much time I intentionally invest into Adrianna and her overall development as a child.  I need to sow seeds of courage, discipline, and unconditional, sacrificial love to her.  And this sowing usually takes place after a long day laboring in the aforementioned financial planner field – so I’m tired.  But this field is more important, and requires more work and more intentional sowing on my part.  Yet the reaping is breath-taking – having a daughter randomly say she loves you and talk about how she wants to marry you when she gets older is one of the most rewarding moments I can think of.  The excitement of her running to me when I walk in the front door at home brings a smile to my face as I write this.

I suppose I could go on about other aspects of sowing and reaping (working out, eating right, evangelizing, etc.) but I want you to think through those and others yourself.  There’s a time for everything, so Solomon said – including sowing and reaping.  Till next time, Jack.

Sincerely,
J.

4 responses to “Sow. Reap. Repeat

  1. Great post Jeremy! I’m headed out to find my gardening tools right now.

    One thing I would add, especially in the sowing as a father section, is the motivation for sowing. It should be simply out of love for our wives, which comes from the overflowing love of God. It should not be so that we reap a benefit out of it. We may very well reap the benefit of receiving respect from our wives as we love them, but we are told to love them no matter what we get in return. That’s simply the gospel, how Jesus loves us.

  2. Oops – meant “sowing as a husband” not “sowing as a father”. Didn’t make much sense otherwise.

    • Good point – for both roles. The reason for the sowing shouldn’t be strictly for the reaping (although I am a bit of a pessimist when it comes to the ability to be 100% altruistic). The sowing to reaping principle I suppose is more of a proverb than a promise for a good return. Thanks for bringing that out!

  3. Pingback: What Are You Willing to Give in Order to Get? | Jeremy's Letters to Jack

Leave a Reply

